Council elects new Deputy President

Published on Tuesday, 22 September 2020 at 7:26:24 AM

Following the resignation of Councillor Adam Metcalf from the position of Deputy President, at its September 2020 Meeting Council unanimously elected Councillor Bev Ward as its new Deputy President.
Councillor Metcalf has served as Deputy President since October 2017 however tendered his resignation from the position effective 14 September 2020 for personal reasons.
In acknowledging the service of Councillor Metcalf, Shire President Councillor Darrel Hudson thanked him for the support and assistance provided during his tenure as Deputy President. Councillor Metcalf continues to hold the office of Councillor, with his term expiring in October 2023. Councillor Metcalf is currently a delegate of Council’s Bush Fire Advisory Committee and one of Council’s delegates to the WALGA Great Eastern Country Zone, in addition to being deputy delegate on the Audit & Risk Committee, Local Emergency Management Commit-tee and Sub-Regional Road Group.
Councillor Metcalf said of his resignation, “It’s been a pleasure to work along side Cr Hudson for the past 3 years. Its now time to spend more time with my young family and allow someone else to experience the challenges of local government at this level. This isn’t closing the door to future involvement, merely allowing someone else to step up and ensure a smooth transition into the future.”
The election of Councillor Ward as Deputy President was also welcomed by the President, with Councillor Hudson saying he believed Councillor Ward was well equipped to handle the added responsibility of the role of Deputy President and looked forward to working closely with her in Council matters. “Bev is highly respected around town and a great Councillor. I value Bev’s judgment and input to Council and thank her for accepting the position of Deputy President.”
Similarly, Councillor Ward is looking forward to participating in Council matters as Deputy President, saying “I would like to thank everyone for giving me the opportunity to be Deputy President of the Dowerin Shire. It is a great privilege and I look forward to working with everyone in the community.”
Councillor Ward’s declaration as Deputy President was witnessed by local Justice of the Peace, Mrs Ann Rackham. Councillor Ward will hold the position until the October 2021 Ordinary Local Government Elections. A copy of the Form 19 - Result of Election is available Here.

Shire President, Cr Darrel Hudson, welcomes Cr Bev Ward as the Shire of Dowerin’s new Deputy President. Mrs Ann Rackman JP, witnessed the occasion.

Back to All News