Current Councillors
CouncillorTermEmail Address
Cr Darrel Hudson (Shire President) 2021
Cr Bev Ward (Deputy Shire President) 2021
Cr Adam Metcalf 2023
Cr Rob Trepp 2023
Cr Lindsay Hagboom 2021
Cr Len Holberton 2021
Cr Jason Sewell 2023

Ward Review

In December 2016 Council resolved to recommend to the Minister that the Ward system for the Shire of Dowerin be dissolved.  This recommendation was supported by the Minister for Local Government and came into effect in October 2017. 

Role of a Councillor

The role of a Councillor is, as a member of the governing body of the Council:

  • to direct and control the affairs of the Council in accordance with this the Local Government Act 1995
  • to participate in the optimum allocation of the Council's resources for the benefit of the area
  • to play a key role in the creation and review of the Council's policies and objectives and criteria relating to the exercise of the Council's regulatory functions
  • to review the performance of the Council and its delivery of services, and the management plans and revenue policies of the Council.

The Role of a Councillor as an elected person is:

  • to represent the interests of the residents and ratepayers
  • to provide leadership and guidance to the community
  • to facilitate communication between the community and the Council.

Contact Information for Councillors

Contact details, such as address and phone numbers, for the Shire of Dowerin Councillors is available Here.

Councillor Representation on Committees

A list of Councillors appointed to Council and external Committees is available Here.

Report on Councillor Training and Professional Development

In accordance with Section 5.127 of the Local Government Act 1995 a local government must prepare a report for each financial year on the training completed by Councillors during that financial year.  The report must be published on the Shire's website within one month of the end of the financial year to which the report relates.

A copy of the report for 2019/20 is available Here. 

Register of Councillor Attendance 

This register details the Elected Members attendance at Council and Committee Meetings and is available Here.