Expressions of Interest - Audit & Risk Committee External Member

Published on Wednesday, 20 January 2021 at 8:23:18 AM

Expressions of Interest (EOI) are sought from suitably qualified individuals to be appointed as an external member to Council’s Audit and Risk Committee (the Committee) until the October 2021 Local Government Ordinary Elections.

The Committee is responsible for reviewing and making recommendations to Council regarding financial management, risk management, internal controls, legislative compliance, internal and external audit planning and reporting. Further details are available in the Committee’s Terms of Reference which are AVAILABLE HERE or by contacting the Administration Office.

In accordance with the Terms of Reference, membership shall be for a period of up to two years, with members eligible for reappointment. Meetings are held up to four times per year and in-person attendance at meetings is preferred.

The Local Government Act 1995 prevents the Shire from making payment to the successful applicant, however reimbursement of reasonable expenses associated with performance of the role may be provided.

Applicants are requested to provide a recent CV and a cover letter detailing:

  • Background, experience and qualifications relevant to the Terms of Reference;
  • Any previous experience or involvement in local government, community organisations or committees thereof; and
  • The motivation for joining the Committee.

We are seeking an individual who can not only assist with the monitoring of the Shire’s governance environment, but also help to identify and drive improvement initiatives which will deliver gains to Council, staff and the wider community. Financial management, audit acumen and/or prior experience in local government will be highly regarded.

For more information please contact Vanessa Green, Executive & Governance Officer, on 9631 1202 or email

EOIs are to be addressed to the Chief Executive Officer and can be emailed to, posted to PO Box 111, Dowerin WA 6461 or hand delivered to the Shire Administration Office, 13 Cottrell Street, Dowerin.

EOIs must be received by Friday 26 February 2021.

Rebecca McCall
Chief Executive Officer